Cross-Discipline Project: Slime Herder

For my cross-discipline project this trimester I worked on a pixel art mobile game in a similar vein to lemmings!

Initially I was just asked to make an environment tileset in a simple vibrant style, similar to Mario.

A few of these tiles went through a few iterations due to various reasons.  Initially I only made one ground tile but after getting them into the game we quickly realised we needed a ground tile with grass and one without, otherwise stacking them on top of each other wouldn’t look right. I also had to redo the trapdoor as first I was asked to make it only half a tile wide, though after some testing I was asked to make them a full tile.

Later I was also tasked with making a background and a button for the UI.  The background was to be bright and whimsical but still pastel to not clash with foreground elements, so I decided to use flat layering of graduating of colors so I could pump it out fast but still have it looking appealing. I also made some clouds that Ben set up to float across the sky as the game was playing and animated the foreground slightly later on for some extra polish.

Foreground_Animated_Background.gif

button updated.png

I’m really happy with how the game turned out! I think Curtis and I hit the aesthetic well, while the game is really fun to play! You can download it here

Leave a comment